Is Reckless Driving a Felony in Virginia
Virginia State Police joins Border to Border enforcement effort – Augusta Free Press
Virginia State Police joins Border to Border enforcement effortAugusta Free PressLast year, troopers from the six states stopped and cited a total of 684 speeders, 14 reckless drivers, and 28 impaired drivers. Troopers cited 260 seat belt violations and 11 child restraint violations. A total of 25 felony and misdemeanor arrests, to …Both state and local police offer safety campaigns in JuneLoudoun Times-Mirrorall 2 news articles »
Whatcom County Jail log for June 4 – Bellingham Herald
Whatcom County Jail log for June 4Bellingham HeraldIn many cases, charges have not been filed. Guilt is … Vikram-Deep Singh, booked by the Washington State Patrol for reckless driving and driving under the influence. … Virginia Lee Smith, booked by the Bellingham Police Department for shoplifting.and more »
Strope enters guilty plea after taking police on a December chase – WTOV Steubenville
WTOV SteubenvilleStrope enters guilty plea after taking police on a December chaseWTOV SteubenvilleBROOKE COUNTY, W.Va. – Ralph Strope, a man who was pulled over for reckless driving and struck one of the officer's cruisers with his car and lead police on a chase along US 22 into Pennsylvania last December, pled guilty to two felony offenses at the …
Man charged with DUI on ATV in McDowell County
POWHATAN (WVVA) – A man faces multiple charges after allegedly being caught driving an ATV under the influence on a McDowell County highway.State Police arrested 36-year-old Jerrod Ivy after he was observed driving…
Questions and Answers
Do you guys know what the wreckless driving policy is here??? Is it 20 or 25 above the speed limit???? Thanks a lot.
Reckless Driving (Felony or Misdemeanor)
Reckless driving – speeding in excess of 80 mph (11 years)
Reckless driving – speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit (11 years)
Reckless driving – racing (11 years)
Reckless driving – passing or overtaking an emergency vehicle (11 years)
Reckless driving – passing a school bus (11 years)
Reckless driving – passing on the crest of a hill (11 years)
Reckless driving – passing at a railroad crossing (11 years)
Reckless driving – passing two vehicles abreast (11 years)
Reckless driving – driving two vehicles abreast (11 years)
Reckless driving – driving too fast for conditions (11 years)
Reckless driving – failing to give a proper signal (11 years)
Reckless driving – faulty brakes/improper control (11 years)
Reckless driving – on parking lots, etc. (11 years)
Reckless driving – with an obstructed view (11 years)
Reckless driving – generally (11 years)
Speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit (5 years)
So the other day i was arrested for reckless driving,, i got bailed out and got court on the 26th,,the police report says i took off at a high rate of speed and causing the tires to loose traction and squeal then i took a right and accelarated at a high rate of speed causing the car to loose tracktion and the rear end swerve into oncoming trafic( wich did not happand) i did not fishtail at all,,, than it says i followed a car less than half a car lenth ( not true he was turning left so i was close cuz he was stopped,, so i got out of jail the same day and now got court ,,, will they take my license away? I really need it i have a brother who is diebetic and parents who dont drive and always need to go somewhere and my brother has docters in TN we live in ky
also this is my first time gitting pulled over and going to jail.
It all depends on how many points you have on your license at this time. I'm not sure about Kentucky laws but you'll most likely get a few points on your license and have to pay a large fine. It really all depends on the judge's mood and your record. If you have a history of reckless driving or speeding tickets the judge may suspend your license for a short amount of time. In Virginia you're allowed to take a class that will take points off your license every two years.
I would suggest not trying to prove the police officer wrong, as that would show that you're unaccepting of the charges against you and do not realize how severe they are. I'm not an attorney but I would just plead guilty, accept what the judge sends your way and hopefully move on. I would suggest contacting an attorney before the hearing [a few days, at least] to get some legal advice, as internet advice may not always be the most accurate. If you can't afford an attorney than I would scour law books at your local library.
Best of luck! I'm sorry about your family situation, I understand it's hard to cope with that and the fact that you're the only driver in the family really makes things difficult.
PS: be thankful you don't live in Virginia, here they classify it as a felony! O: